"I realise that some of my criticisms may be mistaken; but to refuse to criticize judgements for fear of being mistaken is to abandon criticism altogether... If any of my criticisms are found to be correct, the cause is served; and if any are found to be incorrect the very process of finding out my mistakes must lead to the discovery of the right reasons, or better reasons than I have been able to give, and the cause is served just as well."

-Mr. HM Seervai, Preface to the 1st ed., Constitutional Law of India.

Saturday, December 25, 2010

Kishanganga Dispute between India and Pakistan

The Indian Express has reported that the hearings in the Kishanganga dispute arbitration between Pakistan and India would begin from January 2011. The Tribunal consists of the following members:
  1. Justice Stephen M Schwebel (Presiding arbitrator) 
  2. Justice Sir Franklin Beman 
  3. Prof Howard S Wheater 
  4. Justice Bruno Simma 
  5. Jan Paulsson 
  6. Justice Peter Tomka and 
  7. Lucius Caflisch
The said newsreport also suggests that the international law expert R.K.P. Shankar Dass and the noted jurist Mr. Fali Nariman might represent India in the dispute.

For more insights into the dispute, one may access our earlier posts on the Kishanganga dispute from here and here.

No comments: